Greyhawk, Greyhawk Wars

Sheldomar Valley Political Map

Over the last few days I’ve been a little fascinated by the Sheldomar Valley. The area between the Lortmil Mountains and the Crystalmist Mountains is home to a series of small wars that coincided with the greater Greyhawk War that took up the majority of the continent’s attention.

I made this version of the map to represent my own idea of the Flanaess. There are more foothills and tributaries than you have in Darlene’s map. Partly this is because I’m used to there being more foothills and rivers near mountains than the Flanaess is typically shown to have. The other side of this is that I wanted to attempt to connect the political map of the Flanaess with a map I’m actually using in my home campaign.

For the Map I’m going to be using I drew inspiration from this map of the Postwar Flanaess from page 16 of the Wars booklet from the From the Ashes boxed set. This gives us firmer boarders of the world and my own map largely mirrors this.

My political map includes the Grand Duchy of Geoff, Sterich, and Ull which were missing from the Wars map. I’ve also expanded the Kingdom of Keoland slightly while shrinking the Hold of the Sea Princes because that works a bit better for the stories I’m planning on telling there. Grand March has moved further east as my river runs along that course and this, in turn, provides us with a bit more wild space.

I hope this map can help some of you with your home games in the Sheldomar Valley.

2 thoughts on “Sheldomar Valley Political Map”

  1. If there were one change I’d make to the Sheldomar Valley map, it would be to have the Realstream flowing out of Bissel feed into the Sheldomar instead of the Javan. I feel like the Sheldomar River should be bigger and drain more of the Valley than it does.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.